REGINA, April 27, 2016 – The 61 writs of election were returned today by the province’s 61 returning officers to the Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. The return of the writs formally set out the name of the candidates elected as Members of the Legislative Assembly.   

Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer, and Greg Putz, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer, and Greg Putz, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

The writs of election were issued by Chief Electoral Officer Dr. Michael Boda on March 8, 2016 following receipt of an order from the Lieutenant Governor in Council instructing that the province’s 28th General Election was to be held April 4. By legislation, the return to writ of election takes place 23 days after the polling day, which is April 27.

“The issuance, and return, of writs is part of Saskatchewan’s long history,” says Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. “These writs were on public display throughout the entire 27-day writ period in all 61 returning offices across Saskatchewan. The return to the writ sets out the name of the elected candidate, and essentially brings a close to the writ period for the 28th General Election. We will now begin formally closing out the election which includes the required reporting.”

The Elections Saskatchewan publication schedule for post-election reporting consists of:

  • Volume I. Statement of Votes for the 28th General Election
    • Target publish date is fall 2016;
  • Volume II. Administrative Overview
    • Target publish date is early 2017;
  • Volume III. Statement of Expenses
    • Target publish date is March 31, 2017;
  • Volume IV. Legislative Change Recommendations
    • Target publish date is April 2017.

By statute, provincial elections in Saskatchewan are now required every four years on the first Monday in November, unless there is a delay caused by a federal election call. A statutorily required delay to avoid a writ period overlap with a federal election actually effects the length of two provincial electoral cycles in Saskatchewan, according to the provisions of section 8.1 of The Legislative Assembly Act, 2007.

Elections Saskatchewan is the province’s independent, impartial, professional election management body. Given a mandate from the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly, it organizes, manages and oversees provincial electoral events, including the April 4, 2016 general election. Information for voters, workers, media, candidates and parties at



For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Policy
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]



Click here to read the letter from Dr. Boda to Greg Putz, Clerk of the Legislative Asssembly

Final List of Elected Candidates

Arm River – Greg Brkich

Athabasca – Buckley Belanger

Batoche – Delbert Kirsch

Biggar-Sask Valley – Randy Weekes

Cannington – Dan D’Autremont               

Canora-Pelly – Terry Dennis

Carrot River Valley – Fred Bradshaw

Cumberland – Doyle Vermette 

Cut Knife-Turtleford – Larry Doke

Cypress Hills – Douglas Steele

Estevan – Lori Carr

Humboldt-Watrous – Donna Harpauer

Indian Head-Milestone – Don McMorris

Kelvington-Wadena – Hugh Nerlien

Kindersley – Bill Boyd

Last Mountain-Touchwood – Glen Hart

Lloydminster – Colleen Young

Lumsden-Morse – Lyle Stewart

Martensville-Warman – Nancy Heppner

Meadow Lake – Jeremy Harrison

Melfort – Kevin K. Phillips

Melville-Saltcoats – Warren Kaeding

Moose Jaw North – Warren Michelson

Moose Jaw Wakamow – Greg Lawrence

Moosomin – Steven Bonk

Prince Albert Carlton – Joe Hargrave

Prince Albert Northcote – Nicole Rancourt

Regina Coronation Park – Mark Docherty

Regina Douglas Park – Nicole Sarauer

Regina Elphinstone-Centre – Warren McCall

Regina Gardiner Park – Gene Makowsky

Regina Lakeview – Carla Beck

Regina Northeast – Kevin Doherty

Regina Pasqua – Muhammad Fiaz

Regina Rochdale – Laura Ross

Regina Rosemont – Trent Wotherspoon

Regina University – Tina Beaudry-Mellor

Regina Walsh Acres – Warren Steinley

Regina Wascana Plains – Christine Tell

Rosetown-Elrose – Jim Reiter

Rosthern-Shellbrook – Scott Moe

Saskatchewan Rivers – Nadine Wilson

Saskatoon Centre – David Forbes

Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood – Lisa Lambert

Saskatoon Eastview – Corey Tochor

Saskatoon Fairview – Jennifer Campeau

Saskatoon Meewasin – Roger Parent

Saskatoon Northwest – Gordon Wyant

Saskatoon Nutana – Cathy Sproule

Saskatoon Riversdale – Danielle Chartier

Saskatoon Silverspring-Sutherland – Paul Merriman

Saskatoon Southeast – Don Morgan

Saskatoon Stonebridge-Dakota – Bronwyn Eyre

Saskatoon University – Eric Olauson

Saskatoon Westview – David Buckingham

Saskatoon Willowgrove – Ken Cheveldayoff

Swift Current – Brad Wall

The Battlefords – Herb Cox

Weyburn-Big Muddy – Dustin Duncan

Wood River – David Marit

Yorkton – Greg Ottenbreit