September 10, 2022 – At the close of nominations today in the Saskatoon Meewasin provincial by-election, five candidates officially filed their nomination papers with Elections Saskatchewan.

At 2 p.m. today, the candidate nomination period for the Saskatoon Meewasin by-election closed. The list of officially nominated candidates is as follows:

  • Jacklin Andrews, Saskatchewan Green Party
  • Mark Friesen, Buffalo Party of Saskatchewan
  • Kim Groff, Saskatchewan Party
  • Nathaniel Teed, New Democratic Party, Sask. Section
  • Jeff Walters, Saskatchewan Liberal Party

Vote by Mail deadline September 15

Thursday, September 15 is the deadline for Saskatoon Meewasin voters to apply for a mail-in ballot. More than 170 mail-in ballot applications have already been requested. Voters can apply for a mail-in ballot either online at or by calling 1-877-958-8683. As always, voters can also participate by voting in-person either during advance voting, September 20 to 24, or on September 26, by-election day and the last day to vote.

Voter Information Cards in the mail

As of August 29, 2022, there are 12,336 registered voters in Saskatoon Meewasin. All of these registered voters will soon receive a voter information card through Canada Post. Voters who chose to receive their voter card by text or email will also soon receive their cards, which include details including where and when voters can cast a ballot either during advance voting or on by-election day.

Where Do I Vote online tool

This online tool is now live at It is an easy, online tool where a voter enters their Saskatoon Meewasin home address, clicks search, and the advance voting and by-election day voting place options instantly appear.

Work the by-election

Workers are needed for the by-election. Earn up to $230 for working voting day on September 26, and even more for working the 5 advance voting days September 20-24. Workers must wear masks and be at least 16 years old and have lived in Saskatchewan for the past six months. Interested workers can apply by phoning the Saskatoon Meewasin Returning Office directly at 306-933-7066.

Elections Saskatchewan (ESK) is the province’s nonpartisan election management body and an independent office of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. ESK directs and supervises the administration of provincial electoral events including Saskatchewan’s next general election, scheduled, by legislation, for October 28, 2024. Information for voters, workers, media, candidates, and parties at

For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Communications
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]