November 18, 2020 – Saskatchewan’s 61 returning officers today returned their writs of election to the Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. This stage of the electoral process officially concludes Saskatchewan’s 29th General Election and formally declares 61 candidates elected as Members of the Legislative Assembly.

“The provincial election officially began September 29, 2020 with the issuing of the writs, and it officially concluded today with the return of the writs,” says Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. “Writs of election are part of our province’s rich history. They were on public display in each of our 61 returning offices over the past seven weeks. Today we also officially declare the 61 elected candidates as new Members of the Legislative Assembly in Saskatchewan.”

By provincial legislation, the return to writ of election takes place 23 days after polling day, which is today, November 18, 2020. Next for Elections Saskatchewan is to produce the required reporting which will be released in four volumes:

• Volume I. Statement of Votes for the 29th General Election;
• Volume II. Administrative Overview;
• Volume III. Statement of Expenses;
• Volume IV. Legislative Change Recommendations.

According to The Legislative Assembly Act, 2007, Saskatchewan provincial elections are required every four years on the last Monday in October, unless there is a delay caused by a federal election call. Therefore, Saskatchewan’s 30th General Election is statutorily set to occur on October 28, 2024.

Elections Saskatchewan (ESK) is the province’s nonpartisan election management body and an independent office of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. ESK directs and supervises the administration of provincial electoral events, including the 2020 provincial election.
Information for voters, workers, media, candidates and parties at

For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Communications
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]

List of 61 elected candidates