March 25, 2017 – The constituency of Saskatoon Meewasin by-election officially concluded today with the return of the writ of election. The writ was returned by Saskatoon Meewasin Returning Officer Lloyd Howey to Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan.

Dr. Boda issued the writ of election on Feb. 3, 2017 after receiving an order from the Lieutenant Governor in Council instructing that a by-election was to be held March 2. By law, the return to writ of election takes place 23 days after polling day, which is March 25.

“The return to the writ sets out the name of the elected candidate, and formally concludes the by-election in Saskatoon Meewasin,” says Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. “The final task associated with this electoral event is to produce and release a report on the conduct of the by-election, just as we did in 2015 following the constituency of Lloydminster 2014 by-election.”

Elections Saskatchewan is the province’s independent, impartial, professional election management body. Given a mandate from the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly, it organizes, manages and oversees provincial electoral events. Find information for voters, workers, media, candidates and parties at      


For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Policy
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]