February 14, 2017 – There are five candidates nominated in the constituency of Saskatoon Meewasin by-election on March 2.

The five candidates, representing five registered political parties, officially submitted their nomination papers as of the deadline today at 2 p.m.

Ryan Meili (New Democratic Party)
David Prokopchuk (P.C. Party of Saskatchewan)
Shawn Setyo (Saskatchewan Green Party)
Darrin Lamoureux (Saskatchewan Liberal Party)
Brent Penner (Saskatchewan Party)

“Just like voters and election workers, candidates are essential to having an election in Saskatchewan,” says Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. “These five individuals are letting their name appear on a ballot, demonstrating their commitment to their community and to democracy.” 

The by-election is set for March 2, with advance polls open Feb. 24 to 28. In the April 2016 provincial general election, there were four candidates in the constituency of Saskatoon Meewasin.

More information on the Saskatoon Meewasin by-election can be found at www.elections.sk.ca/voters/meewasin-by-election/.

This constituency has been vacant since the passing of Roger Parent, MLA for Saskatoon Meewasin, on November 29, 2016.

Elections Saskatchewan is the province’s independent, impartial, professional election management body. Given a mandate from the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly, it organizes, manages and oversees provincial electoral events. Find information for voters, workers, media, candidates and parties at www.elections.sk.ca.


For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Communications & Outreach
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]