August 18, 2017 – Voter information cards will be arriving next week in the mailboxes of eligible voters in the constituency of Saskatoon Fairview as the September 7 by-election approaches.

“Voter information cards contain key information that voters need before casting a ballot,” says Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. “These cards are unique for each registered voter in Fairview, and they include where and when to vote and what ID to bring. We encourage voters to bring their card with them, along with ID, when it’s time to vote.”

The cards entered the Canada Post mail stream today, August 18, so voters can expect them to arrive in their mailboxes sometime the week of August 21. If you receive a VIC with information that is not correct, please call 1-877-958-8683 or go to where you can update your information online. You have until August 28 to register online or update your information.

“If you’re not on the list by August 28, you can still vote by registering the day you go to vote at advance voting or on by-election day. Being on the list ahead of time simply makes your voting experience easier and faster,” says Dr. Boda.

To vote in the Saskatoon Fairview by-election you must:

  • Be a Canadian citizen;
  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Have lived in Saskatchewan since February 11, 2017;
  • Ordinarily be a resident of the constituency of Saskatoon Fairview.

Advance voting is open to all eligible voters in Saskatoon Fairview either August 31, September 1, 2, 3 or 5 at Confederation Mall. But on by-election day, September 7, voters must vote at their assigned polling location, which is included in a voter’s unique voter information card.

Elections Saskatchewan is the province’s independent, impartial, professional election management body. Given a mandate from the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly, it organizes, manages and oversees provincial electoral events. Find information for voters, workers, media, candidates and parties at


For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Communications
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]