July 19, 2021 – The first volume in a series of four that comprises A Report on the Twenty-Ninth General Election was released today.

This volume, the Statement of Votes, provides an overview of the October 26, 2020 general election, including analysis of voter turnout, data on registered political parties, candidates, and elected members. It also includes constituency-by-constituency results by polling division and summary data of the official voting results.

“This event was was unlike any other general election in our province’s history,” says Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer of Saskatchewan. “The event was administered during a global pandemic, which resulted in significant changes not only to how voters and other key stakeholders were served but also to how Elections Saskatchewan conducted its work.

“For the first time in the history of Saskatchewan, less than 50 percent of voters cast their ballot on Election Day – in many previous elections nearly all votes would be cast on that day. It’s clear to me that voters want more choice on when and how they vote.”

The report can be found here: www.elections.sk.ca/resource-centre/reports-publications/ in both large and smaller file versions. A CSV Excel file of the poll-by-poll results is also available at the above link.

Elections Saskatchewan will produce four volumes for the 2020 general election:

According to The Legislative Assembly Act, 2007, Saskatchewan provincial elections are required every four years on the last Monday in October, unless there is a delay caused by a federal election call. Therefore, Saskatchewan’s 30th General Election is statutorily set to occur on October 28, 2024.

Elections Saskatchewan (ESK) is the province’s nonpartisan election management body and an independent office of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. ESK directs and supervises the administration of provincial electoral events. Information for voters, workers, media, candidates, and parties at www.elections.sk.ca.

For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Communications
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]