August 10, 2023. The First Preliminary Count in three provincial by-elections is complete. A total of 12,969 ballots were counted tonight in the three constituencies of Lumsden-Morse, Regina Coronation Park, and Regina Walsh Acres. Results online at:

As part of the alternate procedures piloted in these three by-elections, vote counting machines were used for 15 ballot boxes at 15 voting locations, five in each of the three constituencies. Counting all these ballots was completed by 8:26 p.m., just 26 minutes after voting closed. These machines were not used at the 16 additional one-day voting locations in Lumsden-Morse yesterday. Counting ballots from these 16 ballot boxes was done with the traditional, manual hand counting practice and was not completed until 10:00 p.m. last evening.

Candidate                           Party                                                          Votes    Vote Percentage


Les Guillemin                    Buffalo Party of Saskatchewan                      56                         1.1%
Kaitlyn Stadnyk                 New Democratic Party (N.D.P.)                  1064                       21.6%
Isaiah Hunter                    Saskatchewan Green Party                             38                         0.8%
Blaine McLeod                  Saskatchewan Party                                    2648                       53.7%
Jon Hromek                       Saskatchewan United Party                       1121                       22.7%

Regina Coronation Park:

Noor Burki                         New Democratic Party (N.D.P.)                     2039                       56.6%
O. Ben Adebayo                PC of Saskatchewan                                        222                         6.2%
Kendra Anderson             Saskatchewan Green Party                               122                         3.4%
Riaz Ahmad                      Saskatchewan Party                                        1131                       31.4%
Reid Hill                             Sask Progress                                                   85                         2.4%

Regina Walsh Acres:

Jared Clarke                      New Democratic Party (N.D.P.)                    2395                       54.0%
Rose Buscholl                   PC Party of Saskatchewan                             215                         4.8%
Joseph Reynolds              Saskatchewan Green Party                               38                          0.9%
Nevin Markwart               Saskatchewan Party                                       1783                       40.2%

Total ballot boxes for each event:

Lumsden-Morse: 23 reported during the First Preliminary Count, comprised of 22 regular polls and 1 PCF poll.

Regina Coronation Park: 7 reported during the First Preliminary Count, comprised of 5 regular polls, 1 Homebound poll and 1 PCF poll.

Regina Walsh Acres: 6 reported during the First Preliminary Count, comprised of 5 regular polls and 1 PCF poll.

Additional polls added for the Second Preliminary Count, August 12, (consisting of all vote by mail ballots received by August 8), and the Final Count, August 22 (consisting of remaining vote by mail ballots received between August 9 and August 21).

A total of 630 vote by mail applications were approved before the August 1 deadline (168 in Lumsden-Morse, 204 in Regina Coronation Park, and 258 in Regina Walsh Acres).

Timelines for counting:

First Preliminary Count. Took place after 8 p.m. on August 10. Counted were ballots from voting week, homebound voting, and personal care facilities.

Second Preliminary Count. Takes place two days after by-election day, on August 12. Includes Vote by Mail ballots received by August 8. Results cumulative.

Final Count. Takes place 12 days after by-election day, so on August 22. Includes Vote by Mail ballots received after August 8 and before August 21. Results cumulative and final results produced.

Elections Saskatchewan (ESK) is the province’s nonpartisan election management body and an independent office of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. ESK directs and supervises the administration of provincial electoral events including Saskatchewan’s next general election, scheduled, by legislation, for October 28, 2024. Information for voters, workers, media, candidates, and parties at

For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Communications
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]