February 15, 2022. A total of 2,228 ballots were counted tonight after 8 p.m. in the First Preliminary Count of the constituency of Athabasca by-election.

A total of 37 ballot boxes are reported during the First Preliminary Count. This count is comprised of 29 regular polls (in 18 unique locations today), 6 advance polls (February 9 to 13), and 2 mobile polls today in personal care facilities. After the first preliminary count totals are as follows:


Clint Arnason Buffalo Party of Saskatchewan (BPSK) 12 votes
Georgina Jolibois New Democratic Party (N.D.P.) 900 votes
Jim Lemaigre Saskatchewan Party 1,146 votes
Darwin Roy Independent 157 votes
Rejected Ballots   13


After this first preliminary count, turnout is 24 per cent so far of the 9,277 registered voters in Athabasca.

The timelines for counting are as follows:

First Preliminary Count. Took place after 8 p.m. tonight.

Second Preliminary Count. Takes place on February 17. This includes vote by mail ballots received at Elections Saskatchewan’s head office by February 15. A total of 40 vote by mail ballot kits were mailed out.

Final Count. Takes place February 28. This includes vote by mail ballots received after February 15. May also include any in-person absentee ballots cast at the Athabasca Returning Office, hospital ballots and extraordinary ballots.

This infographic here details the above three counts.

Results online at: https://results.elections.sk.ca/

Turnout in the 2020 general election in the constituency of Athabasca was 33.6 per cent of registered voters.

Elections Saskatchewan (ESK) is the province’s nonpartisan election management body and an independent office of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. ESK directs and supervises the administration of provincial electoral events including Saskatchewan’s next general election, scheduled, by legislation, for October 28, 2024. Information for voters, workers, media, candidates, and parties at www.elections.sk.ca.

For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Communications
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]