November 13, 2014 – All 40 polling divisions in 17 locations in the constituency of Lloydminster are open for voters in today’s by-election.

“I’m pleased to report that all of our polling locations across the constituency reported that they opened on time this morning,” says Dr. Michael Boda, Saskatchewan’s Chief Electoral Officer and head of Elections Saskatchewan, the provincial election management body.

“We have more than 100 staff working at voting places across the entire constituency today to ensure the by-election is accessible, credible, open and fair.”

Polls will be open today from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Central Time (8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mountain Time).

The unofficial results will be posted live at after 8 p.m. Central Time (after 7 p.m. Mountain Time). This website can also be accessed off the home page of Elections Saskatchewan’s website. The results website is optimized for mobile, tablet and desktop devices and will display real-time results as polls in the constituency report to the Elections Saskatchewan returning office.

The number of polls that will appear on the results website tonight will be 45.

• 40 polling divisions, three (3) advance polls, one (1) mobile poll and one (1) hospital poll.

“Tonight’s results are the unofficial count. We will release the final, official results on Tuesday, November 25. This final number will include the absentee (voting by mail) numbers. These absentee numbers are not included in the unofficial results tonight,” says Dr. Boda.

As detailed in yesterday’s news release, here are some reminders for media:

1. For an interview today, please call or text Tim Kydd at 306.537.9211 or email [email protected] and an interview will be arranged with Dr. Michael Boda, Chief Electoral Officer.

2. Per The Election Act, 1996, no personal electronics (including cameras and video cameras) are permitted for use inside a voting place. Elections Saskatchewan wants to provide some flexibility to media for doing their work, while at the same time protecting the secrecy of the ballot and of the privacy of the voting public. Therefore, media may take photos or record video inside the building of a polling station provided that no voter objects, but are not allowed to go into the room in which the voting is taking place. For example, photos or recording video of a polling place can be taken through an open doorway. If a voter objects, the photography or video recording should stop until that voter has finished voting and has left the voting place.

3. The constituency of Lloydminster returning officer is Josephine Taylor. She may be contacted at 306.825.6462, toll-free 1.844.533.0079 or by email [email protected].

More information on the by-election can be found at

Elections Saskatchewan is the province’s independent, impartial, professional election management body. Given a mandate from the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly, it organizes, manages and oversees provincial electoral events.


For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Policy
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]