REGINA, April 4, 2016 – If you haven’t cast your ballot yet in Saskatchewan’s 28th General Election, today is the last day to do so.

Election day voting is open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Central Standard Time. Eligible voters should refer to their individual Voter Information Card (VIC) for details of where they are assigned to vote in their constituency on election day. To make your voting experience easier and faster, voters should bring their VIC with them to vote.

If you are an eligible voter and don’t have a VIC or know where to vote, please call 1-877-958-8683.

To vote in the April 4 provincial election you must:

  • Be a Canadian citizen;
  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Have lived in Saskatchewan for at least the six months before the day the election is called.


You must show ID to vote. A complete list of acceptable ID documents is online at

Three out of a total of 2,945 polling stations operating across Saskatchewan today did not open on time at 9 a.m.:

  • Carrot River Valley Constituency, Shoal Lake Wacihk Education Complex on Shoal Lake First Nation opened at 10 a.m.;
  • Cumberland Constituency, Pelican Narrows LCA Hall in Pelican Narrows opened at 10 a.m.;
  • Saskatoon Centre Constituency, St. Edward School in Saskatoon opened at 9:30 a.m.

Based on legislative authority, the Chief Electoral Officer has decided to keep these three polling locations open past 8 p.m. to allow voters in those constituencies the same amount of time to vote as elsewhere. This decision does not impact the close of all other polls in the province at    8 p.m. nor the process for counting ballots and reporting results.

Elections Saskatchewan is the province’s independent, impartial, professional election management body. Given a mandate from the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly, it organizes, manages and oversees provincial electoral events, including the April 4, 2016 general election. Information for voters, workers, media, candidates and parties at



For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Policy
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]