February 28, 2022 – The Final Count of ballots cast in the provincial by-election for the constituency of Athabasca is now complete.

A total of 2,265 ballots have been counted from 41 ballot boxes, a turnout of 24.4 per cent of the 9,277 registered voters in Athabasca. Final results are as follows:

Clint Arnason Buffalo Party of Saskatchewan (BPSK) 12 votes
Georgina Jolibois New Democratic Party (N.D.P.) 916 votes
Jim Lemaigre Saskatchewan Party 1,163 votes
Darwin Roy Independent 157 votes
Rejected Ballots   17


A total of 40 vote by mail ballot kits were mailed out for this event, and 27 were returned and included in the Final Count. Full results can be found under the Final Count tab on the event results website at: https://results.elections.sk.ca.

Timelines for counting were:

First Preliminary Count. A total of 37 ballot boxes were reported during the First Preliminary Count on by-election night, February 15. This was comprised of 29 regular polls, 6 advance polls and 2 mobile polls.

Second Preliminary Count. Additional polls were added for the Second Preliminary Count, February 17 (consisting of all vote by mail ballots received by February 15),

Final Count. Took place today. This consisted of remaining vote by mail ballots received between February 16 and February 28, assisted telephone voting, absentee voting in the returning office and hospital voting, for a final total of 41 ballot boxes.

The return of the writ is on March 10, and at that time the Athabasca Returning Office in Beauval will be wound down.

Elections Saskatchewan (ESK) is the province’s nonpartisan election management body and an independent office of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. ESK directs and supervises the administration of provincial electoral events including Saskatchewan’s next general election, scheduled, by legislation, for October 28, 2024. Information for voters, workers, media, candidates, and parties at www.elections.sk.ca.

For more information contact:

Tim Kydd
Senior Director, Outreach & Communications
Elections Saskatchewan
[email protected]