A by-election will be held in the constituency of Saskatoon Fairview on Thursday, September 7. You will find important information related to this electoral event below.  We ask that you please share these communiques with your candidates and key officials throughout the by-election period.

By-Election Called

Earlier today, I received an order from the Lieutenant Governor in Council instructing me to issue a writ of election to our returning officer in the Constituency of Saskatoon Fairview. By-election day will be Thursday, September 7.

An election calendar listing key dates is attached. For hard copies of this calendar, please email Richard Hall at [email protected].

Returning Office Contact Information

The returning officer for the constituency of Saskatoon Fairview is Ms. Wendy De Sa. Wendy was the returning officer for this constituency during the April 2016 general election.  I know that she will offer excellent service to you, your candidates and the voting public.

Our constituency returning office is located at 300 Confederation Drive (in the Confederation Mall). Full contact information for the office is listed below:

Street Address: Confederation Mall Unit #61

300 Confederation Drive

Saskatoon, SK   S7L 4R6

Telephone: 306.956.4923 / 1.855.955.1535

Fax: 306.956.4926

Email: [email protected]

Nomination Day

The nomination deadline for the by-election will be 2 p.m., Tuesday, August 22. You will know that this is a legislated deadline and I would encourage you to have your candidates contact the returning officer to set up an appointment to review the package and clarify any issues or questions well in advance of nomination day. Nominations can be filed anytime after the writ drops before the legislated deadline – there is no need to wait until the last day.

Nomination papers are available on our website at https://www.elections.sk.ca/candidates-political-parties/forms-and-guides/. A completed nomination package must include:

  • Form E-405 – Nomination Paper
  • Form E-401 – Appointment/Consent of the Business Manager of a Candidate
  • Form E-403 – Appointment/Consent of the Auditor of a Candidate
  • Form E-517 – Declaration of a Candidate’s Political Affiliation
  • $100 Nomination Deposit (money order or certified cheque made payable to the Minister of Finance)

A guide to completing the nomination package can be found at the above link. If you have questions, contact Jennifer Colin at 306.787.4061 or by email at [email protected]

Preliminary Voters List

A preliminary voters list for Saskatoon Fairview will be available before the end of the day on Tuesday, August 15 in both PDF and CSV format. If you have a user account for our FTP site, the list will be available for you to download. If you do not have a user account or if you cannot remember your login/password, please contact Son Lu, IT Analyst, at [email protected].

Update to Register of Political Parties

As is the case for all recent elections, Section 226 of The Election Act, 1996 requires registered political parties to update (or confirm) the information found in the register of political parties within ten days of a writ of election being issued. This statement must be in writing and must be signed by the party leader.

The leader can also designate a representative to endorse a candidate. The deadline for this is Monday, August 21. These statements can be scanned and emailed to Jennifer Colin at [email protected] – we do not require a hard copy. It can be sent as a letter, or using the form found under the Forms and Guides section of the Candidates and Parties portion of our website.

As has been our past practice, I will communicate with you, as Chief Official Agent of your party, through a formal by-election communique. We ask that share these documents with your candidates and key officials as well so that everyone is aware of the direction I provide.

My hope is that you won’t hesitate to be in touch if you have any questions throughout the writ period. Our staff and I are here to serve our stakeholders to the best of our abilities.  Thank you for your commitment to our province’s democratic traditions and all the best through this by-election period.

Dr. Michael Boda
Chief Electoral Officer
Province of Saskatchewan